Partners | Sponsors | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Contact
home The BDAV Membership CPD and Education Consumer Information Design Awards Design Profession Information Energy And
Sustainability Hub Job Market News and Media Partnerships Shop

BDAV Building Design Awards

About the Awards

The Building Designers Association of Victoria introduced an annual Building Design Awards competition in 1996 to showcase the talents and expertise of building designers, and to encourage higher standards of excellence in design. 2019 celebrates the 24th year of the BDAV Design Awards, and the judges continue to be impressed with the standard of entries, reflecting the high level of quality design being offered by design professionals to consumers.

The Awards aim to profile excellence in building design, as well as profiling the importance of the building design profession to both the building industry and to the broader community. BDAV Members play an important role in providing the public with building designs that fulfil many and varied criteria.

The competition is open to all building designers who are Full Members of the BDAV and who are either Registered Building Practitioners or Registered Architects at the closing date of the competition. 

The only exception is entrants in the Student Category. Such entrants must be studying for the Advanced Diploma of Building Design (Architectural) or the Advanced Diploma of Interior Design at a recognised TAFE institution at the closing date of the competition.

Entries for this year's Awards close on 29 March 2019. Details on how to enter are in the MEMBER pages of this website. Winners will be announced in Melbourne on 27 July 2019.

The winners of the 2018 BDAV Building Design Awards were announced at the BDAV's Annual Dinner on Saturday, 4 August 2018. To view the winners of the 2018 Awards, CLICK HERE.

Awarded Magazine

The BDAV has been publishing an annual consumer-focussed Awards magazine since 2006, which profiles the winners, entrants, and sponsors in the BDAV's annual Awards competition. This very popular magazine has a strong following by Victoria's discerning public who are looking to build or renovate their home. Awarded (previously named Winning Design) is available through newsagents in Victoria, or via the webshop at this website. Within Awarded we celebrate the Australian way of life and what's happening in Australian design. Our homes have clearly become our sanctuary. We all value the precious time we spend at home with family and friends. Whether you're designing a new home or renovating your existing one, within Awarded you're sure to find some ideas to help you turn your next dream home into reality. 

To view an eBook version of the 2018 edition of AwardedCLICK HERE.

To view an eBook version of the 2017 edition of Awarded, CLICK HERE.

Advertising enquiries for Awarded should be referred to the BDAV at

Award Sponsors

The Building Designers Association of Victoria acknowledges, with thanks, the sponsors supporting the 2019 Building Design Awards:

Webber Insurance Services

NABD Awards

The National Alliance of Building Designers organised its inaugural Awards competition in 2014, and the event has been held annually since then. The NABD was initiated by BDAV and BDAQ, and represents five states across Australia, unifying 80% of the nation's building designers. Our congratulations to all the winners, and our thanks to all Building Designers who were contenders in the Awards.

To view an eBook of all the winners and entrants of past NABD Awards, click on the relevant link:

2018 NABD winners: CLICK HERE.
2017 NABD winners: CLICK HERE.
2015 NABD winners: CLICK HERE.
2016 NABD winners: CLICK HERE.
2014 NABD winners: CLICK HERE.

(NOTE: To view these publication, you need to use Google Chrome, which is a free download at